Cusco!

Hi all, just wanted to let you know I arrived safely in Peru. The first few days I spend in Lima with my lovely family and on 3 July I flew to Cusco to do an intensive language course. 

Lets first begin with the horrible flight Lima-Cusco: Never fly with LAN Peru because it is expensive and you have no leg space. Ryanair will be KLM compared to LAN Peru. I needed to pay a penalty on my ticket of almost 200 dollars because I apparently booked a ticket for Peruvian people only (How do you mean racism based on origins…) Then my seat was double booked and it was not sure if I could take this flight and finally the whole flight from Lima to Cusco turbulence. THE MOST HORRIBLE FLIGHT OF MY LIFE!

I am staying with a wonderful, warm-hearted host-family; Mother Magali and her three daughters Luciana, Camilla and Hanna. I am with this family for a week now and I am calling Magali my second mom. She cooks deliciously, goes with me into the city and is sincerely interested in me.
The passed days I suffered a lot from altitude sickness and that’s no fun at all… but my pills, coca tea and my second mom made me better. Last Sunday I went with them to the school because they had a fundraising for the school. It was amazing! Each class had its own region from Peru and parents needed to prepare a dish from that region. Magali and the other parents prepared a delicious “almuerzo”. Moreover, most parents were dressed in typical Peruvian clothes. Additionally, they had a disco for the younger ones and I needed to go too, as supervisor…P1090944
P1090957P1110022Last weekend I also got a city tour by the coordinator of the school. We went to the school, Plaza de Armas, shopping streets and local markets. Since Monday I follow classes from 09.00- 13.00 hrs. In the afternoons I mostly go into the city or do other school activities. Since yesterday I started classes in Batchata and Cuban Salsa. Here a few pictures of Cusco.

In a few hours I will go to Machu Picchu. P1090932P1110060

 

2 thoughts on “Cusco!

  1. Hallo, Mooi foto s en mooi verhaal Grt Oya

    Verstuurd vanaf mijn iPad

    > Op 11 jul. 2015 om 06:39 heeft A Passage Of Life… het volgende geschreven: > > >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

